32GB iTouch = 29.96GB?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Indianna, Aug 8, 2008.

  1. Indianna

    Indianna New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I finally was able to get the iTouch today after waiting a month for the shop to restock.

    So, I just finished installing iTunes and connected my iTouch. It says the Capacity is 29.96GB instead of 32GB, is it suppose to be like this? Could anyone explain why it's like this? There has to be a good reason
  2. InTheMeanTime

    InTheMeanTime Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    wat is an itouch?
    ------------------double post merged------------------
    its like that because the safari uses space to save url material and such as
  3. iEfforts

    iEfforts New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Basically most if not all memory things are not up to par with how much storage the label says. I believe it's because of the hardware. Or maybe that's where the memory of the apps go? I'm not too sure.

    Basically it's a marketing ploy.
  4. TheAviator

    TheAviator New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's fine, the rest of the space is being used by the OS. It's like that with ALL mp3 players. If you read on the box, it'll say that the size isn't always as marked. That's why.
  5. potroast32

    potroast32 Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is fine, software and other things take up memory, that is about what mine is
  6. AppleDude

    AppleDude Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (White)
    I too have the 32GB and when it is restored I have 30GB that is because the software takes up 2gb I believe
  7. jord

    jord New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    3
    The OS takes up 250MB at most... your reasoning makes sense... but it isn't right.

    The problem is with the math and how manufacturers of hard drives will advertise the capacity of a hard drive in a base 10 number system (decimal, what we are all used to) when in reality the hard drive has data stored in a base 2 number system (binary) which in the end will work out to less space.

    An example ... a MB should be 1000 kb in decimal, but it's 1024 kb in binary

    that extra 24 adds up, and eventually you run out of space and have a lower capacity hard drive.
  8. birdman472

    birdman472 Guest

    *sigh*.........
  9. Jharrelson140

    Jharrelson140 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Yeah, it's because of the OS, firmware and applications.
  10. MrFairladyz

    MrFairladyz Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    yeah, in ads ad stuff it shows a * next to the memory size and it says 1gb=1,000,000kb so ur getting downsized at
    approx 24(pergig)X32(gigs)=approx 768mb, and when you add the OS and other system files, u get what u got. my sisters 8gig nano only has 7.5 gigs after restore....

Share This Page