3.0 to 3.1.1 - Will I loose content?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 3.0' started by hotconductor, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. hotconductor

    hotconductor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I have a jailbroken ipod touch (2nd gen) with 3.0 firmware on it. If (through iTunes) I update to 3.1.1 will I loose my 'jailbroken-ness', apps, etc... or will it simply update the firmware?

    If updating to 3.1.1 means I will have to re-jailbreak, re-sync and re-do everything I've done to it so far, then I will avoid it for the time being.

    Thanks in advance for the advice!
  2. FailSafeIsntSafe

    FailSafeIsntSafe New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    it overwrites as if you're not jailbroken. But the jailbroken files remain, therefore (pardon my bluntness) f***ing over your ipod. I don't recommend this now. I'd just wait to see what the dev's have to say about the current jailbreaking situation with 3.1.1.
    My advice? Wait.
  3. Aseel_Bahaziq

    Aseel_Bahaziq New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Wait .. Wait .. Wait
    You Will Lose Everything !!
    Plus You Can't Go Back To Older Firmwares !!
    (I Did That Stupid Mistake

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    )
  4. LssThanThree

    LssThanThree Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    Just wait to see what the Dev team say.
    It will overwrite your jailbreak and it will leave you with less free space.

Share This Page