3.0 Gold Master and sending it in for repairs? - Broken Home Button

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by timbab, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. timbab

    timbab New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, here is the deal.

    Before 3.0 released, I upgraded my iPod Touch G1 to 3.0 Gold Master (7A341) to try it out, etc, then I bought the final once it released anyway, just to be 'safe'. Then recently my home button broke and now I'm worried of sending it in for repairs, since I can't get rid of Gold Master.

    So the question is, is it safe to send it in for repairs with GM on it? Or do they handle it like a Jailbroken iPod/iPhone? If so, is there ANY way to roll back or update to the retail 3.0? I looked everywhere, can't really find what I need.

    Thanks in advance.
  2. bobby681

    bobby681 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    I'd say shift + restore to the retail 3.0 ipsw just to be safe.
  3. nikj14

    nikj14 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    the GM is identical to the stock 3.0 firmware so i wouldnt be worried.
  4. timbab

    timbab New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Identical as in, same version number?

    And, any idea where to dl retail 3.0 with out iTunes, or how to fix the 3.0 download in iTunes? It only downloads a 0.4 kb 'version' each time.
  5. Collateral

    Collateral Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    The Gold master is the release version. /facepalm
  6. Tommm

    Tommm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    The 3.0 GM is 3.0. So it should be fine to take it to Apple like that.
  7. timbab

    timbab New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've read that they have different version 'numbers', that's why I asked.

    Thanks.

Share This Page