2.1 jailbreak, sort of..

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X Jailbreak' started by jfb392, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Well, I managed to create a QuickPwn bundle for 2.1, but after pwning, Cydia doesn't show up.
    I think this is why the Dev Team talks about MobileDevice in their latest post..
    However, it still exists in the /Applications directory and I'm able to browse the full file system via AFC2.
    /:

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    New Web.app:

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    New iPod touch reference in SpringBoard (N72AP.plist):

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    If you don't believe me or you want to waste your time jailbreaking for basically nothing, here's the bundle.
    Of course, it's for use with QuickPwn as stated before.
    I won't explain how because you probably shouldn't bother; I'm just posting it for those who know how to add a bundle.
    Curse MobileDevice!

    Edit: We have unofficial third party applications working, thanks to Zombie_Killer!
    And I forgot credits last time, so thanks to planetbeing for his crypto utility and QuickPwn, and #xpwn for most likely convincing him to release his crypto utility.
  2. diegohuyke

    diegohuyke New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    this could be the beggining of something great, too bad i'm on a mac if not i would test it


    anyways, i hope you keep on working on this and get a little farther
  3. eric_chaos

    eric_chaos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,746
    Likes Received:
    35
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Whoa. A jailbreak could be sooner than I expected.
  4. Aprosamurai

    Aprosamurai Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    3G iPod touch
    *bows down* you are the master even though it doesnt work yet you are the master
  5. FDDT

    FDDT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is for windows?
    Where i have to puto the file?
  6. thechungster

    thechungster Super Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    6,886
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Woah, you have enlightened us by jailbreaking 2.1!! (partly)

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    I purposely didn't say how to add a bundle because it really has no use right now.
    If you are fully aware of this and won't complain about Cydia not being there, open your QuickPwn .exe in an archiver (WinZip, WinRAR) and extract all files to a folder.
    Add the bundle from my post in the Data\PwnmetheusBundles\ folder.
    You should end up with a iPod1,1_2.1_5F137.bundle folder in your PwnmetheusBundles folder which contains Info.plist.
    Now, just open QuickPwn and select your 2.1 firmware, then follow the instructions as usual.

    Also, something interesting I found:

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    I wasn't going to make another thread, but yeah.
  8. ZombieKiller

    ZombieKiller Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    30
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (White)
    So, its just being able to write on root right?

    That good for now i guess...

    Edit: Hmm... WiFi sync would be cool...
  9. jfb392

    jfb392 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    21
    Device:
    iPod touch
    Well, that's what the definition of jailbreaking is.
    iPhoneBrowser crashes a lot, I notice.
    It was just updated today but still doesn't seem to work well with iTunes 8.
  10. oookkaaaaay

    oookkaaaaay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    you can use power iso to ssh in 2.1??!?

Share This Page