2.0 Upgrade - On Installer?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by Sarcasm Siempre, May 24, 2008.

1. Sarcasm Siempre

Sarcasm Siempre New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    When the January Software Upgrade was released, several Installer packages showed up containing the apps and the wiggly-icon feature. What I was wondering is, when 2.0 is released, will it be possible to get, say, the App Store and the new calculator (with the scientific mode) through Installer?

Please don't call me a "n00b" or other 1337 derogatory term. Keep in mind that I'm relatively new to this.
  2. jpga13

jpga13 Banned

Device:
    iPad 3
    There is no installer for 2.0! You pay for the App Store and the firmware is free.
  3. PippenMan101

PippenMan101 New Member

Firmware 2.0 and the January App Pack are two TOTALLY different things. First off, the App Pack was less then a MB in size, but Firmware 2.0 is around 180 MB. Good luck downloading this on your iPod. And two, NO ONE KNOWS YET! Who knows how Apple is going to execute 2.0. It may be a bundle where you pay for the actual 2.0 firmware entirely, or you download 2.0 for free, but some of the amazing features are blocked out until you purchase it.

Geez, I wish Steve didn't say anything about how Apple has to charge a "nominal fee" for 2.0 for the iPod touch. The questions and threads would have been so much less...
    1 person likes this.
  4. Danls92

Danls92 Super Moderator Emeritus Staff Member

Device:
    iPhone 4 (Black)
    Keep in mind that the App pack was exactly what it sounds like, a couple of apps. The 2.0 firmware on the other hand is (again, very aptly self-described) firmware, which is a whole different ballpark.
  5. The_Judas_Priest

The_Judas_Priest New Member

You are the greatest man alive. +rep
  6. Sarcasm Siempre

Sarcasm Siempre New Member

Device:
    iPod touch
    OK, i get the whole "Firmware is bigger than the app pack" thing. I'm good there.