1602 Error when trying to update to 1.1.2

Discussion in 'iPod touch 1.1.x Jailbreak' started by bcouto, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. bcouto

    bcouto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am getting a 1602 error from itunes when trying to update to 1.1.2

    Here's what has been done...

    1)Original firmware 1.1.2 was downgraded to 1.1.1 by entering recovery mode and downloading the old firmware

    2)Successfully jailbreaked ipod by going to jailbreakme.com

    3)Installed OKtoprep - slide to unlock (yes)

    4)Downloaded 1.1.2 firmware -> shift-click update -> select file

    Then it starts the process, and as soon as itunes "prepares ipod for update" the ipod goes into recovery mode (it has the same screen as the recovery mode at least) and itunes gives a 1602 error communicating with device.

    I have tried many times, even restoring and uninstalling Itunes, stopping apples' processes

    I have also looked in the threads and not found any solid advice

    Any help/insight is well apreciated

    Thanx
  2. j4rv15

    j4rv15 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howdy,
    i had the same issue recently... and i found a guide somewhere that mentioned you have to have have Java installed (java.com)... especially for the stage (which you haven't got to yet) that you run the "windows.bat" file in 1.1.2-jailbreak.zip... but like you, iTunes wouldn't play nice with the 1.1.2 firmware update until i installed the latest version of Java.
    Hope this helps.
    j4rv15
  3. Scythal

    Scythal New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    4
    Device:
    iPod touch
  4. bcouto

    bcouto New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the advice, i'm going to try installing a newer version of java and see where that takes me
  5. mahger

    mahger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    Im pretty sure I had this same problem, although it might have said error 1604 instead of 1602. I tried restoring it on a different computer and it worked fine, but completley uninstalling itunes might have the same effect.

Share This Page