1.1.5 help request

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Qarg, Jun 30, 2010.

1. Qarg

Qarg New Member

Hi, I'm a total newb when it comes to this stuff. I got a touch a while back and hardly used it, then heard about jailbreaking and wanted to try it out. I tried to get it going, but for some reason, it wont allow me to upgrade my firmware!

I have 1.1.5 and downloaded new firmwares from xxx so that I could move up to the latest version. Seems reasonable! So I downloaded 3.1.3 or whatever the last one was for a 1G itouch. I went to install it and it made me update itunes. So i updated itunes, restarted, and and tried again. I did the shift click on the update button to find the file i wanted to use, and selected the firmware i downloaded. I tried to update the thing and it seemed to get pretty far, then it came up with this error message and said I need to restore my ipod to use it with itunes. So i restored it, and tried again. same thing. I switch over to another firmware to see if updating it incrementally would solve the problem, and it just made what seems to be the same error, and made me restore my ipod? I've tried 3.1.3, 2.0.2, and 2.2.1 and they all just mess up and force me to restore my ipod. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong and have any guidance for a poor newb like me? I'd appreciate it a lot! Thanks!
  2. KerrWasHere

KerrWasHere Active Member

Device:
    iPhone 5 (Black)
    I heard people were having problems updaying from really old firmawares ill try to find the thread with the info give me a sec
  3. JailBreaker

JailBreaker Banned

Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yeah i heard that to. But why not just click the update button?
  4. Fike

Fike Member

Device:
    3G iPod touch
    Ok:

1. Delete that firmware link as it breaks forums rules in piracy
    2. You are downloading firmware for free that you have to pay for, which is also piracy.