1.1.4 Application Runtime

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 2.X' started by crizh4x, Jul 6, 2008.

  1. crizh4x

    crizh4x Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Hello all, I've pretty much wrapped up the Backup Utility for the most part so I decided to start a new project.

    THIS IS TOTALLY THEORIZED AT THIS POINT

    I am trying to make it so that you can literally run your 1.1.4 Applications on 2.0 by flipping a switch. Currently I have a semi complex theory as to how to pull this off, which I won't go into detail because I am not sure it will work yet. Currently I think I will make it an option for the backup utility once it gains 2.0 support. Right now I am working on it being one click (you just click your 1.1.4 ipsw) and I think I can do the rest. Anyone know about mounting a .img file in Windows explorer? I think that's about all I lack on the command line end

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    Let me know if you guys think this is a decent project. I hope it works, but I never promise anything until public release. Wish me luck!
  2. agarwal1

    agarwal1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    10
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    If you can pull this off, that would be great!!
  3. crizh4x

    crizh4x Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Yes I think so too... it's probably one of the biggest challenges I've put upon myself but if I can make it happen, I am going to be a happy person

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  4. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    So this would just swap the frameworks?

    I hope you can pull it off. this would be awesome. Good luck!
  5. crizh4x

    crizh4x Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Well in a way, yes but the Frameworks aren't the only thing different between the two Operating Systems. I need to be able to mount an .img file into Windows explorer via command line OR find a working dmg2iso executable... anyone?
  6. Totally 1337

    Totally 1337 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (Black)
    dooooooooooode this sounds SICK!! good luck!

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  7. jimbeam

    jimbeam Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,694
    Likes Received:
    12
    Device:
    iPhone 3G (Black)
    Im not sure what exactly your trying to do but have you tried DAEMON Tools?
  8. crizh4x

    crizh4x Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    I checked them out as with every other piece of software I can scrape off the net, the only problem is the way they are distributed throughout the system and I can't distribute that in my final Application. I haven't even tested the actual runtime yet so nobody freak out, it's just more/less a thought. I'm just going ahead and making the installer for the runtime because it's the hardest part.
  9. Parker618

    Parker618 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    7
    Device:
    iPhone 5S
    so your making a "devhook" sorta like on the psp so you can emulate other firmwares?


    THAT IS BRILLIANT

    my idea was to make a custom frrimware but this works just as good

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  10. crizh4x

    crizh4x Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,474
    Likes Received:
    17
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    Well... it isn't emulated

    Please Register or Log in to view images

    it's literally running a hybrid OS for the 1.1.4 application.. I may actually have to make a dual bootish kinda thing for this to work, but I'm not sure yet. If I can get this to work I'm thinking about making it a Parallels or VMWare knockoff lol... that would be funny

Share This Page