1.1.3 google maps locate

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.3 Discussions' started by mossme89, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. mossme89

    mossme89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    7
    Does the new feature in 1.1.3, locate in google maps work on the touch, or is it like navizon, where it sucks?
  2. MrNase

    MrNase New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, Steve explained it in the Keynote:

    Whenever you come across a Wi-Fi Hotspot, even when you don't connect to it, you get information from it.
    Google, I think it was Google, has collected information about thousands of hotspots and so the iPod touch is able to give you your approximate location.

    Please Register or Log in to view images



    That might work out well in areas where there are many hotspots but it should be difficult for example here in Germany because there are not many free and open hotspots where I live.

    Please Register or Log in to view images

  3. NUCLEaR

    NUCLEaR New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    1
    Device:
    2G iPod touch
    navizon worked fine for me.
  4. mossme89

    mossme89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    7
    wait, do i have to connect to the network, because I took a walk yesterday and it wouldn't locate me (yes I bought it). but it seems like you are saying that it will work at most hotspots and AP's. So do i have to connect to an access point for the locate me function to work, or could I just be passing by?
  5. opera

    opera New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it works without getting connected, but that would mean that the map of the area where you are should he cached in your iPod previousl.
  6. mossme89

    mossme89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    7
    so it would locate me, but the map won't show the satilite images of the area?
  7. opera

    opera New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm guessing here, but I think that would be the case. If you use the maps app without connection it will still work, but the areas that are not cached are not shown (obviously).

    EDIT: OK, I realized that what I said makes no sense, because the iPod has to check an online database so that it can know where it is, and it can't do that without beeing connected.
  8. consume1

    consume1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    6
    Device:
    4G iPod touch
    I like it, it located EXACTLY were i live which was weird.
  9. aaquib

    aaquib Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works MUCH better than Navizon. Not only does it support more areas, but it has a better range, as well as is always free. No limited trial period. For Navizon, I was never able to use it unless I was right beside the window in my room. No where else in the house worked. And, when it found it, it was about 2 streets down. When I use the Google Maps My Location feature, it puts a circle right on top of my house. And it's so cool how I can actually see my house! It's an awesome feature, and works flawlessly for me.
  10. mossme89

    mossme89 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    7
    do you need to be connected to the wifi, or just passing by it?

Share This Page