1.1.3 Google Maps - Locate and Traffic.

Discussion in 'iPod touch Firmware 1.1.3 Discussions' started by jltdhome, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. jltdhome

    jltdhome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Has anyone figured out a way to make the Locate Me feature work. Also, the Show Traffic feature? I have toggled it on but nothing changes on my map. So far the only new feature I am able to use on this application is the drop pin feature. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. Jm9760

    Jm9760 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    The show traffic feature has never done anything for me, even in when I was using a non-jailbroken 1.1.3. The location feature works fine for me, though.
  3. grizzjr1

    grizzjr1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    2
    The locate me only covers certain areas. How did you enable the traffic thing???
  4. in/flux

    in/flux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Locate Me sends your wifi network info to some company's server that drove around some cities and collected information that will allow you to triangulate your location. Your area might not be indexed yet, or there isn't sufficient wifi AP data available.

    Edit: saw this on some blog. In your maps settings, on the same screen as the one with Add buddy, there is an option like Invisible or something. Turn it off.
  5. jltdhome

    jltdhome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    Its not like im going to be using it while im driving down the road. Its just that obsessive compulsive disorder kicking in. Everything has to work just perfect or ill lose my mind. Thanks for clearing up the locate me feature. I guess ill have to go check out a starbucks or something. But the Traffic has to work d*m it all!
  6. in/flux

    in/flux New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    Haha, I hear you, I feel the same way. If you haven't, see my edit above, it might help you. Cheers.
  7. jltdhome

    jltdhome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    3
    Device:
    iPhone 4S (White)
    All is well. Just an update. The locate feature only works on select WIFI Networks. The traffic feature only works on 30 select cities. I was searching for my local Florida town thats why nothing was working. Try searching New York or something. So everything is working 100%.
  8. Paintball

    Paintball New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    7
    Excuse me, i feel really stupid for asking, but how do you get to the map settings? do you mean navizon?
  9. roflsauce

    roflsauce New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPhone 3GS (Black)
    Click the eyeball in the bottom right.
  10. staticoranges

    staticoranges New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Device:
    iPod touch
    actually, no. not the setting we're looking for.

Share This Page