Apple’s iPhone 5 Launches in 22 New Countries Tomorrow

Apple’s iPhone 5, which launched in the US, UK, Canada, Australia, and Germany (among others), will be available in 22 new countries starting tomorrow, September 28th.

These countries represent the second stage of the iPhone rollout, which has historically been staggered to keep demand from being so overwhelming (though, that often still happens – currently, ordering an iPhone 5 online is still plagued by wait times, and in-store stock is selling as quickly as it comes in). The rollout will continue to expand across the globe, likely hitting more Asian nations within a month.

On a related note, the new countries are mostly in Europe, though there are a few scattered over the globe. The new mapping application is noticeably weaker across Europe than it is for the US, UK, China, and the UK: it will be interesting to see if these widely-reported issues actually translate to a loss of sales overseas.

The full list is as follows:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
Post a response / What do you think?